Lewes is a Sussex County Town steeped in history and tradition and is home to the largest and most famous Bonfire Celebration Event in the United Kingdom.

The town has an eclectic and diverse community and the annual Lewes Bonfire celebrations are firmly embedded into their culture, with Lewes being called the bonfire capital of the world. 

Lewes District encompasses a largely rural area with over 25 rural villages covering an area of 113sq mi. It includes 9 miles of coastline where the towns of Seaford, Newhaven and Peacehaven are located.

Visit police.uk for more information about crime in your area

Find your local police station

Follow us on Twitter

Find us on Facebook

Your local team

Chief Inspector Di Lewis

Di is the policing commander for Eastbourne and Lewes and is responsible for the local policing of these districts. She leads the local Neighbourhood Policing Team consisting of both police officers and Police Community Support Officers who are dedicated to protecting our communities, catching criminals delivering an outstanding service in the locality.

Alongside her current role, Di is also an accredited Tactical Firearms Commander and the force lead for Problem Solving. This role demonstrates her passion for ensuring that we reach far and wide in order to seek opportunities to deal with local issues and support all community groups with the help of our local partners. We are passionate that our officers are representative of the community in which they serve.

  • Inspector Ed Ripley

  • Sergeant Amy Mason
  • Sergeant Caroline Reynolds
  • Sergeant Denham Vokins

  • PC Daran Goudie
  • PC Matt Holt
  • PC Marcus Knight
  • PC Saul Bradford

  • PC Carolyn Ross


  • PCSO Casie Brown
  • PCSO Eva Collins
  • PCSO Julie McNirlan

Lewes Bridge

PCSO Alan Ash

Newhaven - Meeching

  • PCSO Julie Nicholson

Newhaven Valley, Telscombe Cliffs, Saltdean

  • PCSO Hannah Osborne
  • PCSO Dani Glenister

Peacehaven (East, West and North)

  • PCSO Chris Marchant

Seaford (North and South)

  • PCSO Jane Disney

Seaford (Central, East and West)

  • PCSO Simon Turvey

Ringmer, Glynde, Firle, Beddingham and Southease

  • PCSO Abi Castle

Hamsey, Barcombe and Newick

  • PCSO Rose Stainer                                                    

Ditchling, Wivelsfield, Westmeston & Streat, Chailey, East Chiltington, Plumpton & St John

  • PCSO Nick Cox