Mid Sussex is a district in West Sussex in the South East of England. It contains the towns of East Grinstead, Haywards Heath and Burgess Hill. 

The district borders the Tandridge district of Surrey to the north, Wealden and Lewes districts to the east, and Brighton and Hove to the south, all in East Sussex, and Horsham district to the west and Crawley, northwest, equally in West Sussex. Mid Sussex covers an area of 128.97 square miles and has a population of over 147,000.

Visit police.uk for more information about crime in your area

Find your local police station

Follow us on Twitter

Find us on Facebook

Your local team

Chief Inspector Shane Baker

Shane is the policing commander for Crawley and is responsible for the local policing of both Crawley and Mid Sussex districts. He leads the local Neighbourhood Policing Team consisting of both police officers and Police Community Support Officers who are dedicated to protecting our communities, catching criminals delivering an outstanding service in the locality.

Alongside his current role, Shane is also an accredited Tactical Firearms Commander and the force lead for Engaging Communities. This role demonstrates his passion for ensuring that we reach far and wide in order to seek engagement opportunities with different community groups and that our officers are representative of the community in which they serve.

  • Inspector Steve Turner
  • Inspector Darren Taylor

  • Sergeant Lewis
  • Sergeant Bray
  • Sergeant Puttock
  • Sergeant Voight
  • Sergeant Bentham
  • Sergeant Crabtree

  • PC Bowes
  • PC Johnson
  • PC Wingfield
  • PC Hayward
  • PC Sandiford
  • PC Burnett
  • PC Hawkins
  • PC Kay
  • PC Nye
  • PC Gould
  • PC Marsh
  • PC Miles
  • PC Griffiths
  • PC Bryan
  • PC Robeson
  • PC Wainwright
  • PC Weeks

  • PC Kemp
  • PC Broad
  • PC Coppard
  • PC Tichband
  • PC Jones

East Grinstead

East Grinstead Town

  • PCSO Chris Lovelock


  • PCSO Kelly McClune

Herontye and Ashurst Wood

  • PCSO Kelly McClune

Copthorne, Worth, Crawley Down and Turners Hill

  • PCSO Sophie Norman
  • PCSO Vanda Lengyel
  • PCSO Roxie Rye

Imberhorne and Baldwins

  • PCSO Chris Lovelock

Haywards Heath

Ashenground and Heath

  • PCSO Simon Roulton


  • PCSO Stephen Low

Lucastes and Bolnore Village

  • PCSO Peter Whitton

Balcombe, Handross, Pease Pottage, Ansty, Staplefield and Cuckfield

  • PCSO Paul Umney

Lindfield, Argingly and High Weald, Scaynes Hill and Horsted Keynes

  • PCSO Paul Umney

Burgess Hill

St Andrews and Leylands

  • PCSO Karen Iles

Meeds and Franklands

  • PCSO Karen Iles

Dunstall and Victoria

  • PCSO Jamie Chandler

Bolney, Albourne, Warninglid, Pyecombe and Poynings

  • PCSO Constantin Maican

Hurstpierpoint and Sayers Common

  • PCSO Will Butler


  • PCSO Nathaniel Wales