Wealden District is situated in East Sussex covering some 323 square miles, making it the largest district in the County. It is an area which is home to over 150,000 people. Half the population live in five main towns: Crowborough, Uckfield, Heathfield, Hailsham, and Polegate. The remainder of the population live in villages and hamlets scattered throughout the district. 

Wealden district borders East Grinstead and Tunbridge Wells in the north and extends southwards to the sea, horseshoeing Eastbourne. The district is divided into 35 wards and 42 parishes and is one of five administrative districts and boroughs in East Sussex. Wealden, along with the other five districts and borough authorities, forms part of a two-tier authority system with East Sussex County Council.

Visit police.uk for more information about crime in your area

Find your local police station

Follow us on Twitter

Find us on Facebook

Your local team

Detective Chief Inspector Alasdair Henry

Alasdair is the policing commander for Wealden District. He leads the local Neighbourhood Policing Team consisting of both police officers and Police Community Support Officers who are dedicated to protecting our communities, catching criminals delivering an outstanding service in the locality.

Alongside his current role, Alasdair has responsibilities for East Sussex Criminal Investigation Department and is the force lead for Organised Acquisitive Crime. This role demonstrates his passion for preventing crimes such as burglary and catching those criminals who are causing the most harm to our communities.

  • Inspector Kendal Wells

  • Sergeant Kara Tombling
  • Sergeant Kath Nevill
  • Sergeant Gez Neilan

  • PC Sarah Poplett
  • PC Craig Roberts
  • PC Emily Dudley
  • PC Brett Williams
  • PC Abby Sims

  • PC Vicky Bishop
  • PC Cathy Codling


  • PCSO Sue Choppin
  • PCSO Rosie Farrance
  • PCSO Charley Reed
  • PCSO Olivia Clinton
  • PCSO Scott McCallum


  • PCSO Matt Duvall
  • PCSO Marcos De La Fuente
  • PCSO Cathy Gilling
  • PCSO Amy Brashill

Hailsham and Heathfield

  • PCSO Tom Lewis
  • PCSO Matt Jarvis
  • PCSO Geraldine Hodgens
  • PCSO David Morris


  • PCSO Fleur Whitaker
  • PCSO Liz McDonagh
  • PCSO Phil Joseph
  • PCSO Richie Davidson
  • PCSO Andrew Ratcliffe